This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

It Is Just The Way I am….

Practical Practice Management

9daf84c7bca5dd25545ccbe5b9f24c11

I was having a conversation the other day with a manager of a small business.  We were discussing how to handle employee problems, and she mentioned when she has to address mistakes or bad behavior with employees she tends to have a short fuse and can be pretty harsh.  After she said this, she immediately said: “But that is just the way I am, I’ve always been that way.”

I told her that she is choosing to be that way, she was not made that way and she can change this behavior.  She was a bit stunned by my statement and became quiet.  I told her that we have choices in what we say, how we say it, what we think and how we behave.

My remarks motivated us to start brainstorming.  Together we identified some ways to increase self-awareness of our actions with the intended outcome that we would behave in a more…

View original post 230 more words

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

