This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Leading with Honor® - Leadership Lessons Learned

Listening

You may be feeling the pressure of the gift-giving season. How can you make your gift meaningful? What do you give the person who has everything? As you plan your giving, I have the perfect gift suggestion; it’s costly and valuable, but you don’t have to spend any money on it.

My Confession

Before I share the gift idea with you, it’s time for a year-end confession. I’m not naturally a good listener; I have several personality challenges that undermine this area for me. My natural Leadership Behavior DNA struggles include being impatient, taking charge too quickly, and at times I can be too confident in my own opinions—all of which threaten my ability to be a good listener.

A few years ago I made a commitment to become a better listener at home with my wife Mary because we had transitioned into being empty-nesters. It was quite a…

View original post 755 more words

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

