This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Blanchard LeaderChat

untrustworthy employee faking workDear Madeleine,

I lead a really excellent, large team at a not-for-profit company.  My question is about one of my team members who was passed to me by a peer who didn’t know what to do with her. 

Since she came to my department, this person has been a below average performer and has not responded to feedback.   As a result, I have put her on a performance improvement plan. Now that HR is involved, she is showing up on time, meeting her deadlines, and finally doing her job.

You’d think this would be good, but it has actually decreased my trust in her.  I’m upset because it is now clear she was just coasting before—and it required extreme measures from me to get her to just do her job.

I hadn’t anticipated this odd feeling of betrayal I now have with her, and I don’t see how I can…

View original post 449 more words

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

